11
May
09

How Great Is That?

When was the last time you thought to yourself, “How great is that? That was really cool God, thanks a lot.”

I woke up that way this morning. It’s not that I don’t have things to complain about. I could start a list and probably spend the rest of the day lamenting all that’s not as I would have it to be. Honestly, there are those days when I can get caught up in that pretty easily. But for whatever reason I started my day today thinking about all the things that I have to be thankful for. I could make a list for you, but there is something more important to talk about. I have discovered something that, I think, is very important. It is the key to having “inexpressible and glorious joy” (1 Peter 1:8).

Despite conventional wisdom, I don’t think this kind of joy can be had simply by “count(ing) your blessings, name(ing) them one by one.” If you want to get into an argument with negative influence, sooner or later you’re going to get tired and/or run out of things to be happy about. Besides that, counting your blessings, the way most of us who struggle with carnality from time to time do it (if you’re already glorified, just disregard that last part), can turn into a pretty self-centered activity rather quickly.

So what is the key I mentioned earlier? For me, it starts by remembering it’s not about me, it’s about God. Specifically what I mean is this. When I am using the gifts that God has deposited in my life the way God intended me to use, namely to serve others, them I’m happy! Pretty simple I know. But the fact of the matter is I have proved this principle over and over again in my life. For me, when I am preaching I have the greatest sense of fulfillment that I ever know. And when someone confirms that God has used me to meet a need in their life, I am overwhelmed with a sense of gratitude beyond description!

If you haven’t already, try it sometime. Figure out what God created you to do, and then do it with everything you’ve got!

1 Response to “How Great Is That?”


  1. 1 Ryan Yoder
    May 11, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Good word for the day. My subscription told me that you’d written a post so that works as expected. 🙂 There can be alot of pleasure obtained when you engage in an activity for the glory of God…for me personally it is always been a struggle to identify what my gifts are. I think a lot of people are like me and have a hard time saying…”yeah I am really good at X.” Usually humility prevails and I say “well so and so is much better at X so maybe it should be left to them to do it properly.” This is selfish thinking, but all too human. I think the key is your last line…doing it with everything you’ve got. Good or bad, God will honor your worship (i.e., obedience) to fulfill His plan…


Leave a Reply

