16
Jun
09

a holy experiment

1113118I was reading Oswald Chambers the other day and he made this statement, “If you will give God your right to yourself, He will make a holy experiment out of you— and His experiments always succeed.”

That really intrigued me. What does it mean to be “a holy experiment?” If we look to Scripture it quickly becomes apparent that God is in the habit of taking ordinary human beings, like you and me, who have accepted His gift of grace, and arranging circumstances in our life to demonstrate His goodness and power so that others might observe what He is doing in us. Take Job as example. Or, look at the apostles, of whom Paul said, “Instead, I sometimes think God has put us apostles on display, like prisoners of war at the end of a victor’s parade, condemned to die. We have become a spectacle to the entire world—to people and angels alike.” (1 Corinthians 4:9) You might be thinking, “but those are biblical super Christians, God doesn’t do that kind of thing in ordinary everyday believers.” Notice what Paul writes in 2 Corinthians 2:14. “But thank God! He has made us his captives and continues to lead us along in Christ’s triumphal procession. Now he uses us to spread the knowledge of Christ everywhere, like a sweet perfume.”

If you’re like me, I’m sure you’re wondering how successful this experiment can really be. I know how often I’ve come up just a little bit short of the mark. But that’s the interesting thing. God even uses even our weakness to show His patience and mercy.

Chambers tells us the key to the success of this experiment when he goes on to say, “The one true mark of a saint of God is the inner creativity that flows from being totally surrendered to Jesus Christ. In the life of a saint there is this amazing Well, which is a continual Source of original life. The Spirit of God is a Well of water springing up perpetually fresh.” It is the Holy Spirit living in you that, to put it in scientific terms, is the catalyst which produces God’s desired result. Is it any wonder that we are directed in Scripture to be continually “filled with the Spirit?” (Ephesians 5:18)

1 Response to “a holy experiment”


  1. 1 Ryan Yoder
    June 18, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    I really like your last line here…that the holy spirit is the catalyst and that it requires continually being filled with the spirit. A daily process of asking the spirit to order my steps and guide my actions and fill me up…not a one-time filling like I thought when I was young. I’m full of holes and the spirit leaks out 🙂 I gotta get a daily dose or else I’ll wind up empty.


Leave a Reply

