22
Jun
09

living by faith

whistler_bungee_winter_AI have a confession to make. I’m a control freak. It’s not always evident and it doesn’t affect everything that I do. I have learned to temper it some for sanity’s sake. Experience has taught me that there are some things I just can’t do anything about, and there are some people that I’m just not going to change. So I have learned to back off or, maybe it’s just a passive/aggressive response, who knows?

Anyway, I have found that the problem with being a control freak is that it makes it very difficult to follow the biblical mandate of living “by faith.” (Romans 1:17) As Erwin McManus explains, “Somehow we’ve come to believe that faith removes ambiguity rather than calls us to live in it. The church tends to live by ‘the faith’ more than it lives by faith. Many times what we want from God is not a mandate that requires our faith, but a guarantee that in reality, faith was never needed.”

I’m sorry to say that this statement describes me pretty accurately. I have made a priority out of “living by the faith,” but, like many throughout the history of God’s people, I have struggled with walking by faith through the difficult times in my life. I, like most of us I presume, long to see miracles of biblical proportions, but the minute a situation arises that only God can handle I start trying to figure out how I’m going to “fix it” myself. My Type A personality kicks in and I start strategizing. I develop timetables. I marshall resources. I make lists of personal and professional contacts that I have who might be able to help.

Some might be thinking, “What’s wrong with that? You are just using your leadership and administrative gifts that God has given to you.” God does expect us to use our talents wisely, generously, and proficiently. But we are also reminded in Scripture that, “The best-equipped army cannot save a king, nor is great strength enough to save a warrior. Don’t count on your warhorse to give you victory– for all its strength, it cannot save you. But the LORD watches over those who fear him, those who rely on his unfailing love.” (Psalm 33:16-18)

1 Response to “living by faith”


  1. 1 Latonya Rodden
    June 24, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    I can certainly identify with this blog. In fact, there are times that I pray and say, “Lord, I am trying to give this to you, and I really want you to take it, cause it is too much for me…But, I know and you know that I am still going to try to control it even though I can’t. So I apologize ahead of time.” Although this seems like a really Stupid thing to pray, I think God knows my honesty, and the word tells us that he knows our heart.
    However, recently, as you know I went through one of the scariest situations in my life. And things were spinning out of my control. Lists, and resources couldn’t change anything. Even the doctors could only treat the symptoms, but, said there was no cure, that the damage was done, and it would have to run the course. It is these times, that I think faith/trust is what we walk in. I had people praying all over the country, when I couldn’t even pray. Each time I heard that someone was praying on his behalf, my heart lifted. (A physical reaction) Why? Because I knew from experience that prayer works. And remember, that God didn’t heal the lame man because of his faith, he healed him because of his friends faith. I would really be surprised if you didn’t surround yourself with people of faith. And remember, it only takes faith the size of a mustard seed. What we control freaks think, is that we need the whole bush!!!!!


Leave a Reply

