08
Jul
09

rebel just because

rebelcauseI have found myself in the midst of real inner turmoil in the last few years as I have sought to pursue the things of God more purposefully. It came up again last week while I was away for a few days. I was standing in a gift shop looking at tee shirts and one stood out. I reached to pick it up, but something stopped me. The slogan on the shirt had the word “rebel” in it.

Don’t misunderstand, the word describes me perfectly. I am a rebel through and through. I like doing things my own way. I don’t like being told what to do. I live to stand out from the crowd. And I don’t like conforming to any herd mentality.

So what’s the problem with a tee shirt? Romans 13:2 says, “So anyone who rebels against authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and they will be punished.” It all started back in the Garden-Adam was the first rebel without a cause-and it has been going on ever sense. We all are subject to the condition in lessor or greater ways. But if our goal is to identify with Jesus Christ, to truly be like him, then we must fight the nature within us and bring our will under the influence of the Holy Spirit. We must resist the desire to “have it our way” and constantly pursue the will of God in our lives. That’s why, in teaching the disciples to pray, Jesus told them to make this request of the Father, “Your Kingdom come, Your will be done.

0 Responses to “rebel just because”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

