14
Jul
09

The B-I-B-L-E

hand-old-bible-web-744575Charles Spurgeon once said, “The Bible that is falling apart usually belongs to the person who’s life is not.”

A lot of us grew up singing, “The B-I-B-L-E, that’s the book for me.” But it seems as if many of us never got past the basic Bible stories and a few memory verses.

Let me explain what I mean this way. I am really bad at reading instruction manuals. I love it when a new gadget comes with one of those quick reference guides that tell me the “Ten Things I Need To Get Started.” I figure those ten things are all I’ll need and if there is anything else I want to know I can always pull the reference guide out later when I have more time. Yeah, right! I never seem to have more time, do you? And then I’ll meet up with someone who has the same gizmo that I have and they’ll do something really cool with it that saves time or simplifies a process that I have to perform all the time. I end up looking ignorant because I had all this technology that could make my life simpler and I never knew it because I didn’t take the time to read the owner’s manual. What a waste!

And yet many of us do the same thing with the Bible. Along the way we have picked up a few highlights here and there, but we never have allowed the living Word of God to speak to the whole of our lives. And as a result, we continue to struggle with the same issues. We continue to fall into the same destructive behaviors. We make the same bad decisions repeatedly. And we can never figure out why there are people around us who are so “lucky” because they are being more successful than we are in some area of life. All the while we have access to the “owner’s manual” for life -the Bible- and we never take the time to go beyond those basic stories and memory verses that I mentioned earlier. What a bigger waste!

Make the time. Read your Bible. Get involved in a regular Bible Study. Read a commentary. Interact with people who are doing these things and watch your life be transformed!

1 Response to “The B-I-B-L-E”


  1. 1 Jason
    July 15, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    What a great blog. I am continually amazed when I read a verse of scripture that I know I have already read before and yet am in awe of what is being said. The feeling of wonderment and intrigue, I attribute to the holy spirit speaking to me and man, that is AWESOME!

    I fall short in this area though, I do not read as much as I want to. I do believe that a steady “diet” of the word of god is transformational and fulfills our soul’s need of a relationship with our creator.


Leave a Reply

