27
Oct
09

worship or worry

lifted-handsI have known some world class worriers in my life. My Grandmother was a great example. If there was something to fret about, no matter how miniscule the chance of it happening, she could find it. I guess some of that rubbed off on my family. I remember when my daughter was only a few years old she asked her Mom, “What am I going to wear when I get big? None of my clothes will fit me.”

Worry seems to come easy for most of us, even though we are taught both by precept and practice that the overwhelming majority of what we worry about will never come to pass. Still, we find ourselves taking comfort in the Pessimist’s Motto: “If I expect the worst I will either be right or pleasantly surprised.”

But the Scripture takes a different view. The Bible tells us we should replace the worry in our lives with worship. In Philippians 4:6, Paul puts it this way. “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.” The implication of this verse is huge. If we worry we are challenging the reality of God’s love for us and his ability to care for us. But if we choose to worship instead of worry we will be reminded of God’s love for us and his great power which he has demonstrated on our behalf time and time again.

I know how hard it is to “feel like” worshipping sometimes. But that is the beauty of what Paul is telling us. When we begin to think about what God has already done for us, worship becomes a natural expression of gratitude that flows from our hearts with exuberance and authenticity and our faith is revived, and maybe even grows a little.

So start listing everything God has done for you and see what happens. I dare you!

0 Responses to “worship or worry”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

