04
Nov
09

challenges

marathon-runnerOne of my favorite quotes comes from Mother Teresa: “I know God will not give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish that He didn’t trust me so much.” As far as I’m concerned she nailed that one.

Life can be pretty challenging at times. Family issues, personal crises, conflicts, financial setbacks, workplace decisions and health issues can come rushing in individually, or in groups, leaving us feeling like we’re riding a Tilt-a-Whirl in a hurricane. As a matter of fact, the longer I live the more I am convinced the ideas of control, order and “normalcy” are illusions we create in our minds as a means of maintaining a little sanity. At best they are exceptions and not the rule. Before you question my spirituality, let me remind you that even the Apostle Paul had his moments. It was him who wrote, “We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed and broken. We are perplexed, but we don’t give up and quit. We are hunted down, but God never abandons us. We get knocked down, but we get up again and keep going.” (2 Corinthians 4:8, 9)

Does this mean we resign ourselves to a fatalistic mindset and mope through life? No. We do exactly what Paul said – “We get up again and keep going.” The promise we have been given in Scripture is that “despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us.” (Romans 8:37) Again, it was Paul who declared triumphantly, “I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need.” (Philippians 4:13)

I have heard it said the difference between a coward and a hero is just a matter of which way you run. It has nothing to do with fear. Rather, it is a choice of running away from the battle, not believing that God is big enough to help you, or running towards the fight, believing that God trusts you and will deliver you from whatever you are faced with.

1 Response to “challenges”


  1. November 5, 2009 at 12:51 am

    Great stuff! This is so true and needed. More people need to be exposed to this kind of insight. I love the statement: the difference between a coward and hero is just a matter of which way you run.

    Keep it up brother. Todd


Leave a Reply

