09
Feb
10

transformed


Paul writes, “Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you” (Romans 12:2, The Message).

A lot of us are familiar with that passage (at least a more traditional version of it) and assume that, for the most part, we’re doing a fairly adequate job living out Paul’s teaching. After all, it’s pretty easy to do when we interpret and evaluate “culture” based on: our tradition, our prejudice, our personality strengths, our likes and dislikes, our goals, and our definition of evil. But what happens when we “fix (our) attention on God” and allow him to “change (us) from the inside out”? That’s where this whole thing gets confusing because when we allow the transforming work of the Holy Spirit (2 Corinthians 3:18) in our lives we are given a whole new set of definitions by which to evaluate ourselves; and, trust me, that is a painful, and at times confusing, event!

The KJV Bible says that the first century church “turned the world upside down” – At least that’s how the culture of that day viewed it. Talk about being counter-cultural! But, I’m pretty sure that before we can turn our world upside down we are going to have to allow God to turn us upside down. There is more to conversion than accepting Jesus as your Savior so that you can go to heaven when you die. God wants to radically transform you so that he can bring “the best out of you, (and) develop well-formed maturity in you”.

1 Response to “transformed”


  1. 1 Karen
    February 9, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    I woke up this morning with a song on my heart (I think it is by Hillsong). One verse says, ” and the cry of my heart is to give You praise from the inside out, Oh my soul, crys out from the inside out…” I love that! My soul crys out from the inside out!!! I appreciate this blog today and pray that God transforms me starting with my heart, my attitude, and how I respond to situations.


Leave a Reply

