04
May
10

please help lord!

The recent headlines out of Tennessee reminded me of a story I once heard.

It seems there was a flood in a little town and all the residents were being rescued from their homes. A rescue team came by one particular house wheres a man was sitting on the porch as the flood waters were rising all around him. The rescue boat pulled up to the porch and one of the rescuers told the man to get in the boat and they would take him to safety. He told them, “No thanks. I prayed and asked God to help me.” Sometime later the water had risen significantly and now the man was standing looking out an upstairs window when a larger rescue boat came by. The rescuers again called out to the man and told him to get in the boat and they would take him to safety. Again the stranded homeowner responded, “No thanks. I prayed and asked God to help me.” A few hours later the water had risen to the level that it was about to sweep the house away. The man had climbed out onto the roof to escape the rising water. A helicopter flew over and spotted the man sitting on his roof. The rescuers told him they would drop a basket down to him so they could lift him off the roof and take him to safety. Once again the man said, “No thanks. I prayed and asked God to help me.”

Not too long after the house was indeed swept away and the man tragically perished. He arrived in Heaven and immediately went to talk to God. “Lord, I’m really upset. I was counting on you to rescue me!” God responded, “What more did you want? I sent you two boats and a helicopter!”

I know you saw that one coming, but how often have you and I been guilty of the same thing? We identify a problem area in our life and then we pray for wisdom to deal with the situation. God speaks to us through his word, godly counsel and the wisdom of his Spirit, and we ignore it because it’s not the plan we had come up with. So, we suffer the consequences of our unwillingness to obey, and then get upset with God, the church and/or Christian leaders, rather than accepting God’s direction and provision for our lives.

0 Responses to “please help lord!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

