15
Jun
10

trust

An unknown sage once said, “You can tell the size of your God by looking at the size of your worry list. The longer your list, the smaller your God.”

Without a doubt life can get complicated quickly. I, probably like you, used to think I had life all figured out. I had neat and tidy explanations for every occurrence as well as foolproof formulas to guide me through every situation I faced. My ideas seemed to work well for a while and then, all of sudden, it seemed – well, to put it bluntly – I lost all control!

That loss of perceived control (I say “perceived” because, as one individual put it, “Control is an illusion.”) caused me to do some serious reflection and evaluation. One of the things I had to spend some serious time analyzing was my understanding of God’s purpose for, and oversight of, my life. I had quoted often passages like Romans 8:28: “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.” I had mistakenly come to think, like many of us, that if I would live the kind of life God wanted me to nothing uncomfortable, inconvenient, or confusing would happen to me. I never would have admitted that out loud, but my actions when something that did not fit into my plan occurred spoke volumes. All of a sudden a guy who was confident (a nice way of saying borderline arrogant), poised and generally speaking, fearless had come to a complete loss of understanding. I found myself questioning God’s care and thinking that I needed to be more self-reliant. In other words, that worry list I mentioned earlier became very long.

I can’t say that I have totally overcome this “new” tendency in my life to worry. I can tell you that I have dived more deeply into God’s word and I have learned to take my focus off the events of this life and instead focus on the love and sovereignty of God. I have learned to view life and all of its intricacies from a Kingdom perspective, acknowledging that it’s not all about me but, rather, that I am a part of God’s grand plan for all of creation and I have responsibility to fulfill in that plan. In doing so, I’ve come to a whole new realization of the awesomeness of God and, as a result, my “worry list” has gotten a whole lot shorter!

So how big is your God?

0 Responses to “trust”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

