05
Oct
10

walking by faith

Have you heard about the History Channel’s new show for the fall, IRT Deadliest Roads? The History Channel website describes it this way. “Three of North America’s toughest truck drivers are crossing borders and tackling some of the most extreme roads in one of the world’s most unforgiving environments: the Himalayas. Navigating the highways of India–some of the deadliest on the planet–will test everything the drivers have learned in more than 40 years of combined experience. They’ll be forced to adapt to road and driver conditions they’ve never before encountered. Whether it’s driving along 1,000-foot-high cliffs, dodging avalanches, failing to communicate in a language they don’t understand, facing hostile temperatures or simply driving on the other side of the road, nerves will be tested and lives will be put on the line this season on IRT Deadliest Roads.”

Please, sign me up! My kids love to tell the story about when we went on vacation to Arizona and I wouldn’t get near the railing to look at the Grand Canyon. I actually stood back in the parking lot and said, “I can see it just fine from right here.”

How often our spiritual walk – what Paul calls “walking by faith” (2 Cor 5:7) – can look like a very treacherous road that is about to give way from beneath us. Circumstances seem to be deteriorating all around us and our only option is to keep moving ahead. Sometimes it seems as if we are a character in one of those cartoons where the ground is literally crumbling out from beneath us as we are running as hard as we can to get to a secure place. David must have been feeling like that when he wrote: “But as for me, I came so close to the edge of the cliff! My feet were slipping, and I was almost gone.” (Psalm 73:2) Was that the end for David? Absolutely not! He goes on in verses 23 and 24 to declare: “Yet I still belong to you; you are holding my right hand. You will keep on guiding me with your counsel, leading me to a glorious destiny.”

0 Responses to “walking by faith”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

