21
Dec
10

party!

Please don’t take this the wrong way, but God’s people are generally pretty lame when it comes to partying. This observation comes from 48 years of personal observation and participation. I’m as guilty as the next believer. We talk about celebrating God’s love with exuberant joy, but pretty much our parties consist of sitting around church basements, engaging in superficial small talk, watching with amusement (the more tolerant of us at least) those who might really engage in behavior that would convince someone that a party was actually occurring around them.

Then there is our worship style. I’ll be brief, but do you remember what the Bible said about David’s worship style? 2 Samuel 6:14 tells us “David danced before the LORD with all his might.”

Now, I am aware of what some of you are thinking. You are justifying your “reserved behavior” as just the way you are. I know this because I relied on that excuse for a long time myself. There is no question that some of us are more extroverted than others, but I began to realize something. When I wasn’t being “churchy” I acted differently – I had more freedom. That really bothered me. I wondered what was wrong with me spiritually. I wondered if I was in some backslidden condition and didn’t even realize it. The only problem with that line of reasoning was my devotional life was more fulfilling than it had ever been and, through his word, I was hearing from God in ways I never imagined possible. The Holy Spirit was convicting me of attitudes and behaviors that I didn’t know were offensive to him and real life change was taking place!

Finally the thought occurred to me, “What if that’s not the way God intended me to be? What if my fallen nature and that of those who had influence in my life had caused me to be that way? What if God created me to express the joy he had given me in an openly demonstrative way? What if he really did call me to be free?” Then I had a very sobering thought – “What if I have been pretending before God the way I do other people? If the truth really does set me free (John 8:32), what am I missing out on in my relationship with God because of my lack of authenticity?”

I mention all this because we have a pretty important celebration coming up this week and we ought to “party” in such a way that everyone we have any contact with will quickly notice the “joy beyond expression” (1 Peter 1:8) that is ours because of Jesus!

1 Response to “party!”


  1. 1 Pamela Denny
    December 22, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    BRAVO! and a AMEN!


Leave a Reply

