04
Jan
11

the absence of health

As I was waiting in a line that was close to stretching out the door at the walk-in clinic the other day, I was reminded of something I once read: “It is the sick person who really knows what health is.”

The truth of that statement was vividly obvious to me as I stood there sneezing and coughing with the rest of my comrades in misery. How easily we take for granted the blessing of health when everything is in relatively good working order. However, the minute some part of our body, no matter how small, becomes injured or diseased in some way we feel the effects of it throughout our entire body.

I am coming to realize how true this is spiritually speaking as well. Oswald Chambers once commented, “A child of God is not aware of the will of God because he is the will of God. When we have deviated even slightly from the will of God, we begin to ask, ‘Lord, what is your will?’ A child of God never prays to be made aware of the fact that God answers prayer, because he is so restfully certain that God always answers prayer.”

Wow! What a significant, but very weighty, truth. I think that was exactly the attitude Jesus demonstrated when he stood before the grave of Lazarus and prayed, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me. I knew that you always hear me, but I said this for the benefit of the people standing here, that they may believe that you sent me.” (John 11:41, 42)

The point of all this, for me at least, is the more in tune I become with God through the presence and ministry of the Holy Spirit in my life, the more natural and less forced knowing and doing his will seems to become. Instead of demanding that God give attention to my priorities, I focus on and give attention to his priorities; it is then that all the details of my life seem to fall into place naturally. Just like the healthy person who cannot remember what it was like to be sick (come on Z-pack), the person who masters this principle becomes a natural expression of the will of God as the Spirit of God flows through them.

0 Responses to “the absence of health”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

