01
Feb
11

feel the burn

I love to work out. I’m not bragging, it’s just a fact. I think my appreciation for exercise started with my Dad’s example. When I was young I would exercise with him. We’d do our push-ups, sit-ups and deep knee bends every morning. My Dad would also make a race out of every trip down the street. When I was young he let me keep up. When I became a teenager it was on! Bragging rights were at stake.

As a result, I look forward to my trips to the gym every week. I don’t always feel like going. Sometimes my schedule prevents me from getting there. However, when I get there I’m always glad I went.

I was doing my bench press sets the other day and I realized it had been a while since I had upped the weight I was working out with. I had become static. I knew to have increased benefit I would need to add some weight to the bar, but I knew something else as well. If I added weight it would create strain. That strain would create discomfort – the burn you feel when you push your muscles to their limit. I also knew there would be discomfort for a day or two afterward because of the soreness the increased weight would create in my muscles.

I had to make a decision. Was the “pain worth the gain”? I opted for the pain. I put extra discs on the bar, got a friend to spot me, and gave it my all.

We face the same situation spiritually. Do we stay where we are and remain comfortable, never growing in our faith, or do we rise to the challenge and allow our faith to be stretched? It’s not always enjoyable; in fact, most of the time, it’s downright painful in the present and produces “soreness” for awhile afterward. However, in the end, the results are appreciable.

There is, however, one more observation I need to make. We have a choice whether or not we are going to grow and stretch our muscles. That’s not really the case if we’re a child of God. Because God loves us so much he is going to allow circumstances into our lives that are designed to stretch and grow our faith whether we like it or not! The only choice we have is how we’re going to deal with those circumstances. Are we going to position ourselves to get the most out of the experience or are we going to just “get by” and not receive the full benefit of what God wants to do in our lives? That choice is ours.

1 Response to “feel the burn”


  1. 1 Jenene
    February 2, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Thank you Pastor for these Blogs,I look forward to theme.


Leave a Reply

