14
Mar
11

what in the world is going on?

The images and reports that are pouring in from Japan are utterly overwhelming. I just finished reading that Japanese police authorities have reported 1,000 bodies washing up on a beach in a coastal area. ONE THOUSAND! Absolutely overwhelming! The pictures tell the story more graphically. People who have enjoyed the common grace blessings of living in one of the richest nations the world has ever known, are now shown living in abject poverty – no water, no electricity, no food, no shelter. The dazed looks on their faces say it all. Over 2,800 already confirmed dead with estimates projecting a death toll of 10,000. Absolutely overwhelming!

The first question I have to ask is “What are you going to do to help?” Jesus said, “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:35, 36) You can go to http://www.1networkforgood.org and pick a charity in which to donate. If you would prefer to give through Samaritan’s Purse, the link is http://www.samaritanspurse.org/index.php/articles/pray_for_japan/.

The second question is “What in the world is going on? It seems like there is one natural disaster after another.” Paul answers that one for us in Romans 8:19-22: “For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God. We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time.” Just as God’s people are frustrated by the condition of the world, so is creation. Just as we are awaiting the resurrection, creation is awaiting the “new heaven and new earth” promised in 2 Peter 3:13. As Jesus advised, when you see all of this happening, don’t be fearful but, rather, “Stand tall with your heads high. Help is on the way!” (Luke 21:28, The Message)

0 Responses to “what in the world is going on?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

