10
May
11

spiritually discerned

The clock on the night stand says 3:30 AM, but my body knows better. I’m trying to ignore the nagging feeling that I should be up doing something productive, but it’s not working. So, here I am working away with hours before my schedule actually begins. What’s the problem you ask? The clock is reporting Alaskan time, but my body is still on Eastern time – 4 hours different. (Who knew? I always knew Alaska was huge, but its own time zone? It doesn’t help that the sun doesn’t go down until almost 11:00 PM and comes up a little after 5:00 AM and that I went to bed after 11:00 PM Alaskan time.)

I have traveled a lot of places around the world and have always been fascinated by time zones. They are as close as those of us living in the real world get to parallel universes, time travel and the like. While in a different time zone I always find myself calculating what time it is at home. (I wear a really cool radio controlled chronograph watch that reports multiple time zones and helps me with my calculations. I know it’s a little nerdy.)

I have come to realize as Spirit-filled believers we do, or at least should do, the same thing. We are not of this world and our spirit knows it. The Bible says that the Spirit of God identifies with our spirit and that we might be physically in one “time zone” but our minds, our hearts, our priorities and our spiritual man are all part of another time zone so we constantly find ourselves trying to “calculate” what’s going on in that one.

Paul explains it this way in 1 Corinthians 2:14: “The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually discerned.” In fact, Paul spends a lot of time and uses a lot of allegories throughout his writings trying to explain this principle. He talks about seeing things through a cheap mirror, the mystery of marriage and the like, and tells us that all these things are a constant reminder of what time it is “back home”. Our job is to cultivate, through prayer, study and obedience to the Word, an awareness of Kingdom things and to align ourselves with them as the Holy Spirit works in us and gives us reminders that we are just “aliens and strangers” (1 Peter 2:11) traveling through this world on our way back to our time zone.

0 Responses to “spiritually discerned”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

