07
Jun
11

transitions

Lately I’ve noticed some subtle, yet profound, changes in my life. Perhaps the most noticeable is my concern that “Christ is formed in (me)”. (Galatians 4:19) The desire for this character change in my life is not as altruistic as I would desire it to be. I have to admit it is simply the result of constant exposure to the word of God that produces the realization that change is absolutely necessary if I am going to continue to enjoy the peace and joy that my soul craves.

I notice this desire for change expressing itself more and more in my prayer life. Of late, whenever I am praying about some difficult situation or trying circumstance from which I desperately want relief, I find the focus shifting from “Help Lord!” to “Father, I want you to use this situation to produce spiritual and emotional wholeness and maturity in my life.” It is not always easy to pray that way. In fact, sometimes it is downright terrifying. On other occasions it is just very uncomfortable because it is not what the flesh wants to do so it must be dragged along, kicking and screaming the whole way.

Perhaps the Apostle Paul best summed up what I sense God trying to do in my life in Philippians 3:8,9,15. “What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ– the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith. All of us who are mature should take such a view of things.” NIV I’m not there yet. I still try to cling to the trophies of the past and my plans for the future. I am still tempted to view every event or circumstance in light of my comfort. It is still tempting to try and dictate to God what the minimum standard of blessing will be that he must produce in my life to keep me from acting like a spoiled brat and running off to pout in the corner.

All of this is juxtaposed against my growing desire to be like Jesus. As John prayed, “Even so, Lord Jesus, come”, (Rev 22:20) I add, “come into my life and be formed in me today.”

0 Responses to “transitions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

