02
Aug
11

two conclusions

I have come to two conclusions recently. The first is this: Life is really good! God has blessed me in so many ways it would be impossible to list all of them here, but I will mention a few. I will start with all the “spiritual blessings” he has heaped upon me. These would include, but not be limited to, salvation, sanctification, the infilling of the Holy Spirit and grace for every day. I am grateful for a fantastic wife who loves me and is committed to our relationship. I am humbled by my children and the wisdom, integrity and courage that are coming to fruition in their lives. I am overwhelmed by the expressions of friendship I constantly receive from those God has brought into my life. I am very honored by the opportunities God has given me, and continues to give me, to serve him by serving others. I am truly blessed! The words of the Psalmist might express it best for me when he wrote: “Bless the LORD, O my soul; And all that is within me, bless His holy name! Bless the LORD, O my soul, And forget not all His benefits: Who forgives all your iniquities, Who heals all your diseases, Who redeems your life from destruction, Who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies, Who satisfies your mouth with good things, So that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.” (103:1-5)

The second conclusion I have come to is this: Life is hard. It is filled with disappointments, let downs, betrayals, pain and suffering. There are days when things seem to make very little sense, if any sense at all, and some days when it seems as if our world is coming to an end.

But here’s the interesting thing – The hardness of life is what brings to light the goodness of God’s blessings! Those that would deny, or at least try to ignore, the suffering that accompanies life, are missing out on the sweetest of God’s blessings and provisions of grace he wants to pour out upon them! The writer of Proverbs reminds us that God “gives grace to the humble.” (3:34)

Paul sums it up this way in 2 Corinthians 4:16-18: “Therefore we do not lose heart. Even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day. For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory, while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

0 Responses to “two conclusions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

