06
Sep
11

enjoy the trip!

Recently, my wife and I were working on the details for our 30th wedding anniversary trip. We will be traveling to some places we have never been before and we have a couple of hectic connections to make. Although I love an adventure, there is a part of my personality that wants to have all the details worked out in my mind, or at least have a familiarity with schedules, customs and directions so that I can get to where I need to be. However, when you travel to new places, that’s not always possible. Often you just have to wait until you are at your destination and then go with the flow. Not always comfortable to think about, but I’ve found that some of the best adventures of my life – and certainly some of the best memories – come about as a result.

The same is true spiritually speaking. We like everything to be neat, understandable and keeping with our schedule. We do not like it when our plans are diverted in any way, forgetting that Proverbs 16:9 tells us: “We can make our plans, but the LORD determines our steps.” NLT

We stress over unforeseen challenges as if the words of Isaiah 41:10 had never been written – “Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, surely I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” NASB

We worry about how to respond to situations that catch us off guard, ignoring the promise of Jesus in Matthew 10:19: “Don’t worry about what to say in your defense, because you will be given the right words at the right time.” NLT

We conjure up the perfect storm of financial catastrophe, all the while forgetting what Jesus told his followers in Matthew 6:25, 26: “For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they?” NASB

Hebrews 11:13 tells us that we are just tourists passing through this world so trust God and…

Enjoy the trip!

0 Responses to “enjoy the trip!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

