07
Nov
11

kingdoms

Have you ever noticed how fascinated we are with kingdoms? We witness the fascination whimsically in children’s movies that depict the stories of princes, princesses and evil sorcerers that end with “happily ever after”.

Although I believe that there is a glimpse of the eternal in these stories (Ecclesiastes 3:11 “God…has also set eternity in the human heart”), there is also a reminder of the human condition.

In Matthew 6:10, Jesus instructs us to pray for God’s Kingdom to come. Later, in verse 33 of the same chapter, he tells us to “seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Here’s the thing – Ever since Adam and Eve succumbed to the lie of Satan that they could “be like God”, you and I have been busy seeking to build our own kingdoms! I know we don’t want to admit to that – I know I don’t. We prefer to think about those who are building their own kingdoms as the wealthy, the powerful and the influential. However I have come to the realization that I have devoted a large part of my energy to establishing a kingdom of my own. As I already mentioned, I have never owned up to that because I defined “kingdom” in a way that excluded my own example of pride (as we all tend to do). I have come to realize that the kingdom I was trying to establish was one of comfort and familiarity. The thing was, those things never produced any lasting joy or contentment in my life.

Paul reminds us that we have been “qualified…to share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light” (Colossians 1:12). I like that! I have been “qualified” by what Jesus did for me, and this Kingdom, “the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit” (Romans 14:17), the very things that my soul craves.

0 Responses to “kingdoms”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

