23
Nov
11

it’s the holiday season

I’m not sure if I am highly entertained by the lady in the Target commercials or if I’m completely weirded out by her. Truth be told, I think it’s a little of both! It seems that she is quickly becoming a cultural icon that represents the holiday season for a lot of us who get caught up in, what can be, the overwhelming busyness of the holidays. Parties, family get-togethers, travel, decorating, shopping and musicals, all intended to add to the joy and celebration of the season, can quickly become an evil and burdensome taskmaster that sucks all of the joy and fun out of the holidays for us.

And speaking of weirded out, what about those relatives that we look forward to spending time with. Then after two hours with them we’re trying to plan our escape because they have, in record time, gotten on our very last nerve!

It seems like we humans have an incredibly twisted knack for taking things that God designed and intended to produce pleasure and fulfillment in our lives and finding ways to make them excruciatingly unbearable.

After much introspection, I think I have come up with a solution. Let’s do what we are demanding of our culture. Let’s put Christ back in Christmas! In other words, let’s be Christ-like in all we do. Let’s not give in to the lust of consumerism. Let’s remember it’s more blessed to give than receive. Let’s not try to outdo or one-up anybody in our gift giving. Let’s practice patience when we deal with other people, whether it’s the real life Target lady that cuts in front of us at the mall or obnoxious Uncle Ned who always has to one up us with his stories! Let’s serve those who probably don’t deserve it remembering that we didn’t deserve what Jesus did for us either. Let’s be the body of Christ we have been called to be so that those who don’t know him can be drawn to him.

3 Responses to “it’s the holiday season”


  1. 1 Paula Lautzenheiser
    November 27, 2011 at 3:59 am

    Well Said Pastor!!

  2. 2 Eric M Miller
    November 27, 2011 at 4:28 am

    For me it is a good time to see my wife spaz out while watching target lady spaz out! We travel quite a bit over the holidays and visit many a party. For us giving is a Joy and the fellowship is priceless! God teaches us each season to be content and thankful for what we have, what we give and what we receive. My parents taught my brother and I invaluable lessons growing up about The real reason for ANY season in our lives. Keeping things in perspective and in balance is a constant goal in striving to achieve. I for sure want toto strive to be a better man each day. In doing so I cherish and try to put into practice the Godly/Biblical principals that my heroes, my Dad and Mom instilled in my heart! I have a long way to go, but I have an awesome God and great people around me! Here is to keeping perspective of how to balance the natural and the super in this holiday season!

  3. 3 Tracy
    November 27, 2011 at 5:41 am

    Great words Pastor, make you think about things in a different light.


Leave a Reply

