07
Jun
13

liar, liar

liar“God is no mere human! He doesn’t tell lies.” So states Numbers 23:19, in the Contemporary English Version. The writer goes on to say that God doesn’t, “change his mind” and that he “always keeps his promises.”

So why have I so often called him a liar? That got your attention, but it’s true. Every time I have doubted one of his promises, every time I have allowed worry to rob me of my peace, every time I have lost a minutes sleep fretting over some situation, I was basically looking God in the face and saying, “You’re a liar!”

That certainly was not my intention, but I just did not take the time to understand result of actions. The enemy loves for us to live with that kind of duplicity in our lives. He wants us to believe that our actions have no consequences. But they do. They always do. Every time we give into our doubt and fear, it chisels away at our confidence in God. In essence we are questioning the integrity of God.

Of coarse, much of this is based upon or experience with other people, and ourselves. What I mean is this; others have proven to be unreliable, just as we have. Obviously not all the time. But often enough that we’re just not sure if they are going to come through for us, and so we always have a backup plan, just in case. So it is in our relationship with God. We want to trust him and believe his promises, but the minute there is any delay or uncertainty we go into panic mode because, “we have been let down so many times before.” It’s not that we mean to question God or put his integrity on trial, it’s just a natural byproduct of our action.

But here’s the thing, “God is no mere human! He doesn’t tell lies.” You can take that to the bank! When doubts arise in your life just remember who made the promise to you. “But what if it doesn’t work out the way I thought it should”, you ask? We’ve all been there. But that doesn’t mean God lied, it simply means we have failed to see the “big picture”. Regardless of that failure on our part, God faithfully continues to orchestrate our circumstances in such a way as to bring about his ultimate good in us and prepare for his Kingdom that is to come.

1 Response to “liar, liar”


  1. June 7, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    If anyone were to ask, I always said that Numbers 23:19 is my favorite verse. There was a time in my life that when I ran into any kind of problem I would bring this verse to my mind. Now I am trying to figure out when I stopped. I have become accustomed to things not working out. This is not good. Therefore when the most basic of good happens, I say, oh, God thought of me today.
    It is amamzing how quickly we can be conditioned. I had not realized this until I read the message above. I have been trying to convince myself that God is concerned with my life even when I am not living up to his expectations. I forgot God does not work this way. He is not a man that he should lie. God is incapable of lying. If I stand and remember the word that is in me that really is enough. This is my prayer. Lord bring your word to my remembrance and give me the gumpsion to want more word in my mind and heart.
    The journey continues.


Leave a Reply

