04
Nov
14

just the right time

Story4The Bible says, in Galatians 4:4, that when just the right time came, God sent his son. I’ve often wondered what made it the “right time?” I know what the scholars tell us about this verse. They say the “right time” had a lot to do with the colonization of the known world by the Roman government and the subsequent building of the road systems throughout the Empire, as well as the expansion of trade routes, common culture and commerce. This certainly seems to be a reasonable explanation, but I do wonder if there might have been other factors as well.

The one thing I do know is that God’s timing, although not always fully understood, is always perfect.

I had a great example today. Let me start by saying that the last month has presented a few challenges, a few disappointments, and a few questions. Don’t misunderstand; God has been good and over all, things are good. (The Lord willing, we are going to have our kids and grandkids home for Thanksgiving! Thanks Father!) But life is life and the enemy is relentless. So for the past couple of weeks I have been talking it out with God and trying to come to some understanding of things. In my devotion this morning I decided I was just going to give God thanks in spite of the fact I didn’t have all my answers yet. I finished my devotion and got busy with my day. When I returned to the office after lunch one of the men of our church was in the receptionist office. I stuck my head in to say hello and talk for a minute. I finished chatting and got up to go back to my office and the man stood up as well, walked over to me and said, “I noticed your demeanor of late and it looks like you’re struggling a little bit.” He grabbed me, hugged me and said, “It’s going to be all right.” I thanked him and walked back to my office thinking, “At just the right time…”

0 Responses to “just the right time”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

